About Erica

I am in my last year of my 30's who is currently living in Charlotte, North Carolina with my spouse Sean, our three kids (Nate, Ezra, and Micah) and our three cats. I worked for a large non-profit for over a decade before I 'retired' in 2017 when I became pregnant with Micah and we decided as a family to give me staying home with the little ones a go. I gave myself a year to really focus fully on my family and to figure out my next move. I have always had a passion for writing (I was a journalism major in college) and have blogged on and off for years. I decided now was the time to get serious, and I launched Mama in Colour on December 30, 2018.

I am desperately fond of breakfast food (the true way to my heart is pancakes), Cafe Bustelo coffee, taking day trips to Asheville, NC, and as many naps as I can possibly get in. My sweet spouse is truly my best friend, as cliche as that may sound to some and I love doing life with him. Having children with either huge age gaps or tiny ones is one of the biggest surprises of my life and is often challenging, but always worth it.

My oldest son is gay and I am and will always be a fierce advocate for him. I am queer myself and my own experience has shaped how I support him. And yes, I am happily married to a man, and yes, we are monogamous, and no, I am not interested in you. 😉

If I could go shopping with anyone it would be Nicole Richie. My style is a little bit boho, a bit minimalist, and I love pattern mixing. I'll never quit rose gold no matter how trendy it gets, and I will never wear contacts.

I am always going to speak up about racism, homophobia, xenophobia, and I am a huge advocate for speaking against those things. I am brash and political and I am proud of it.

Share the love: